40th Milo Marathon National Finals

December 4, 2016 | Iloilo City

Photos courtesy of MILO Philippines

Consistent champion Mary Joy Tabal marked the 40th year of the National Milo Marathon with her fourth consecutive first place finish as Milo Marathon Queen, clocking in at 2:47:53, just seven seconds shorter than her previous record a year ago.

“I was not expecting this fourth straight win. I did not put that in my mind, I just told myself to relax and enjoy the race,” Tabal said.

She was followed by Christabel Martes (3:10:11) in second place, and Liane Abella (3:14:27).

In the men’s division, Jeson Agravante was hailed as the new Milo Marathon King with a time of 2:35:13. Tailing Agravate were fierce rivals Maclin Sadia (2:35:22) and Julius Sermonia (2:37:01). Defending champion Rafael Poliquit, Milo Marathon King 2015 missed the 2016 finals.

Josphat Kiptanui Too Chobei and  Elizabeth Chepkana Rumokol both from Kenya, finished in a blistering 2:22:10 and 2:41:51 respectively emerged champions in the Open Category.

The Philippines’ biggest and longest-running marathon saw over 17,000 participants gather last December in Iloilo City. “We are honored to be part of the historic culminating event of the National Milo Marathons 40th anniversary, we hope the runners enjoyed the race experience we have prepared for them,” said Iloilo City mayor Jed Mabilog.

Andrew Neri, MILO Sports marketing manager expressed optimism for MILO’s future marathons “through our runners who have become our agents of motivation that energized Filipinos to be at their best in their respective endeavors.”

The National MILO Marathon is not only a breeding ground for local talents but also a program that empowers children nationwide. Since 2010, its “Help Give Shoes” advocacy in partnership with the Department of Education has encouraged 60,000 runners to donate brand new pairs of running shoes. Last year alone, MILO participants donated 10,000 pairs to underprivileged school children.

View full race results here.

There are no comments

Add yours

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *